Ruminating and Llalluminating

Curated Care

I've been pretty excited to have my "first place." It's what I think I really want: tidy, simple, well kept, small, comfortable, welcoming, quiet. I've been able to brush off the maximalism of my childhood home for the collection and upkeep of fewer things that matter to me.

Not that other things didn't and don't matter to me. They did and do. But, I'm realizing that curating what you care about and actively choosing what to focus on is important. For me, it means choosing not to put so much emphasis on some things, even if I really do like them. It means having fewer things and fewer categories of things. It means taking a deep breath and leaving behind something that I would normally purchase.

With summer fading here much faster than it ever did in California, my mind turns to the changing seasons. From before Halloween through early winter. I love this time of year. I love decorating, cooking, singing, watching films, reading spooky stories, feeling safe and warm and, now, experiencing the snow I'd never seen as a child.

I want all of this in my new home. But I also want to maintain my frugality and the curation of what I have and care about. I'm unsure how I'll manage it. I imagine there are new customs to be made.

The concept of curated care hasn't led me to getting nothing new. I glance around at the number of Birdo figures and plushies I've amassed since moving to the state. They bring me enormous joy. They connect me to my childhood and my unbelievably lucky present.

I hope I am thoughtful about everything I bring into my home, not simply because I'm sharing it with another person (and now, a cat), but because it makes me happy to have just the things that I consciously decide matter. I hope the feelings of overflow and bounty during the fall and winter seasons don't derail me completely.

#Birdo #autumn #holidays #home #moving #thoughts