Ruminating and Llalluminating

Home Flow

When I moved from California to Washington, I brought two suitcases. I ended up not needing everything in those two suitcases.

My roommate and I recently moved into another apartment. It's larger than the studio we'd shared for a handful of months and he had inhabited for more than a few years. We've been challenging ourselves and each other to discard things that aren't needed.

Leaving that studio was harder than leaving the house I grew up in. Fitting our lives into a new, larger space has been a surprising challenge. And not unwelcome.

There is something to moving and seeing your life, this amorphous solid, still rigidly holding to the shape it once filled, sluggishly flowing into the different corners and rooms, splashing in slow motion upon the walls, and settling into its new shape.

I'll be visiting the house I grew up in soon. I don't really want to. For all the filling out and settling in I still have to do here, it's my home.

#home #moving #thoughts